Arkansas Federation of Music Clubs
Ninety-first Annual Convention

April 17-18, 2015

Northwest Arkansas Community College
1 College Dr.
Bentonville, AR 72712

Hosted by
Northwest District
Allyssa Riley, District President

Registration Fee: $20
Registration Deadline: Friday, April 3
Registration Form: Download

For more information about Junior Day, and to download schedule and forms, visit the Junior Day page.


Convention Meetings
Northwest Arkansas Community College (Google Maps)
1 College Dr.
Bentonville, Arkansas 72712
NWACC Campus Map

Friday Parking: Do not park in parking places with numbers in them. They are paid parking spaces for students and staff.

Friday Night Dinner
Copeland’s of New Orleans (Restaurant Website & Menus)
463 N. 46th St. (Google Maps)
Bentonville, Arkanasas 72756

Convention Hotels

Courtyard Marriott (Hotel Website)
1001 McClain Rd. (Google Maps)
Bentonville, Arkansas 72712
Phone: (479) 273-3333

  • $85.00 (+ tax) per night
  • Guest room with king-size bed or double
  • Refrigerator/Microwave
  • Free Wifi
  • Complimentary Breakfast (with coupon)
  • Restaurant/Bar “The Bistro” open for Breakfast and Dinner

When booking rooms at Courtyard Marriott, remember to mention you are with the AFMC Convention to get discounted rate.

TownePlace Suites (Hotel Website)
3100 S.E. 14th St. (Google Maps)
Bentonville, Arkansas 72712
Phone: (479) 621-0202

  • $69.00 (+ tax) per night
  • Studio rooms (NOT suites) with Queen bed
  • Kitchenette
  • Free Wifi
  • Complimentary Breakfast

TownePlace Suites does not have a restaurant on premises. When booking rooms at TownePlace Suites, remember to mention you are with the AFMC Convention to get discounted rate.

National Guest

Michael Edwards
NFMC First Vice President

Michael EdwardsMichael became a member of the Morning Musicale of Fort Lauderdale Junior Club at the age of eight years old. In 1968 he was awarded a full scholarship to study with Lee Luvisi at the Brevard Music Center by Ford Lawton, co-founder of the Morning Musicale of Fort Lauderdale. The following year Michael enrolled at the Cleveland Institute of Music where he received his B.M. and M.M. in piano performance.

Returning to Fort Lauderdale, Michael joined the Morning Musicale senior club and served as its Junior Counselor. Later on Michael would serve as Treasurer for ten years, Vice President and President. Michael served as President of the Royal Poinciana District from 2007-2009 (largest in the state) and President of the Florida Federation of Music Clubs from 2009-2011. During his time as FFMC President, FFMC made the NFMC competitive competitions a top priority. In 2011 Floridians won the Marilyn Caldwell Piano Award, Collegiate young men’s voice Award, Young Artist (strings) and runner up in the collegiate young women’s voice.

On the State level, Michael was appointed as FFMC Festival Chairman by Gretchen Van Roy in 1983. He would be reappointed to that post in 1989-1991 by Helen Dingus. Michael was appointed FFMC Junior Counselor by Connie Tuttle from 2001-2009. It was during this time that FFMC saw tremendous growth in its Junior Division. During his tenure Florida become the largest Junior Division in the NFMC. The FFMC Junior Convention also saw tremendous growth in attendance and scholarship awards. Scholarship awards doubled from 2001-2009. Five endowed awards were established during this time increasing awards at the Junior Convention to over $10,000. Michael has also served on the FFMC Finance, Budget and Bylaws committees. In 2006 the FFMC Member of the Year was awarded to Michael Edwards.

During his time on the NFMC Board of Directors (2005-2009), Michael was appointed to the Finance Committee by Lana Bailey (2007-2009). He also served on the Publication, Development and Policy Resolutions Committees. In 2009 Michael was the National Chairman of the NFMC Biennial Convention held in Orlando Florida. Michael also served as a Federation Festivals Bulletin advisor, Piano Duets (1998-2010).

Michael became a Florida Fellow in 2009 and a Rose Fay Thomas Fellow in 2010.

Michael is completing his fourth year as NFMC First Vice President. During this time he has served as Budget Chairman, Liability Insurance Chairman, Policy Resolutions Chairman and serves on the Finance Committee.

Pre-Convention Museum Tours

Crystal BridgesFor the 2015 AFMC Convention, the Northwest District has arranged for two optional, identical pre-convention tours of Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art.

The cost for the tour is $10 (non-refundable). A separate check made payable to AFMC should be sent with your convention registration. Either tour will be canceled if not enough people register, in which case your check will be returned to you.

You are responsible for your own transportation from NWACC to the museum, either by taking your own car, or arranging to carpool.

For the 11:00 a.m. tour, 10 individuals will be required. Participants will meet at Northwest Arkansas Community College in front of Burns Building at 10:15 a.m.

For the 2:00 p.m. tour, 20 individuals will be required. Participants will meet at Northwest Arkansas Community College in front of Burns Building at 1:15 p.m.

Tour registrations must be received by Friday, April 3. Individuals cannot be added to the tours after April 3.

IPFAC Scholarship Auditions

Auditions for IPFAC Scholarships will take place Saturday morning at 9:00 a.m. in Burns Building Recital Hall.

Convention Schedule

Friday, April 17 (Burns Building)
2:00 p.m. Registration
2:00 p.m. Finance Committee Meeting
3:35 p.m. AFMC Board & Executive Committee Meeting

5:00 p.m. Dinner at Copeland’s of New Orleans (Not required. Cost not included in registration.)
(IPFAC focused dinner with Gloria Grilk & Jim Swiggart)

7:30 p.m. Opera in the Ozarks and Chamber Singers Concert
White Lecture Hall, Burns Building
Northwest Arkansas Community College
Reception afterwards provided by Andante Music Club

Saturday, April 18 (Shewmaker Center)
8:00 a.m. Registration
8:30 a.m. District Meetings
9:00 a.m. General Session

10:00 a.m. Junior Day
11:00 a.m. Folk Dancing Workshop
Sheree O’Rorke, clinician

12:00 p.m. Break
12:30 p.m. Luncheon (Cost: $15)
2:30 p.m. Dismissal